Timber Species


Different species of timber have different hardness ratings called Janka ratings, the higher the number, the harder the timber. This is an important thing to consider when choosing your timber flooring.

Other important factors are the grade or feature content of the timber, the board width and what type of coating you would like to achieve the desired look and longevity of your timber flooring.

Select grade: also known as Classic or Premium grade.
Select grade has been carefully graded, board by board to ensure that it meets strict quality standards. It has a uniform appearance which is well suited to modern, minimalist, and traditional styles. You may find small amounts of natural features including small gum veins, birds eye, insect tails and tight knots.

Standard and Better grade: also known as Prime, Classic or Prestige grade.
Standard and Better grade is only available through certain producers and is a mixture Standard grade and Select grade.

Standard grade: also known as Australiana grade.
Standard grade selectively highlights the natural variations to give your timber floor a unique character. Standard grade is carefully graded to include the most interesting variations and distinctive markings to enhance the natural look of your timber flooring.

Rustic grade: also known as Standard Feature grade.
Rustic grade is only available through certain producers and is a mixture of Feature grade and Standard grade.

Feature grade: also known as Natural or High Feature grade.
Feature grade is exactly how nature intended it to be and includes a high level of natural characteristics. This grade offers a unique appearance of natural features including gum veins, knots, face checking, worm and borer holes. Once considered the cheapest grade, it is now highly sought after.